LCF 1st CG
The Lower Cape Fear Chapter first color guard was formed in 2010 with Bob Avent (Brown Bess firelock), Gary O. Green (Betsy Ross Flag), Bill Blackburn (Chapter SAR Flag) and Lee Porter (French Charleville Firelock)

Flag Staff Engraving

The Sons of the American Revolution was incorporated on January 17, 1890, in Connecticut and later chartered by the United States Congress on June 9, 1906. Prior to this date a number of state societies were formed in the 1880’s. These were led by The Sons of Revolutionary Sires organized July 4, 1876, in San Francisco. The first Congress of the National Society was held in Louisville, Kentucky on April 30, 1890, which was the 100th anniversary of George Washington’s taking the oath of office of President of the United States.

The SAR has more than 30,000 living members from all 50 states and 23 foreign countries. Throughout its 116-year history, SAR has admitted more than 190,000 members. Among them are 16 Presidents of the United States, including George W. Bush and his father George H. W. Bush, Jimmy Carter, Dwight D. Eisenhower, Harry Truman and Theodore Roosevelt. SAR also has had among its members Sir Winston Churchill and King Juan Carlos I of Spain, both of whom trace their ancestry to Revolutionary War patriots.

The National Society of the Sons of the American Revolution celebrated its centennial and the bicentennial of Washington’s becoming President on April 30, 1990.

The purposes of the Sons of the American Revolution are patriotic, historical and educational. This includes:

Perpetuating the memory of Revolutionary War Patriots.
Promoting fellowship among their descendants.
Inspiring the community with a reverence for the principles of government founded by our forefathers.
Encouraging historical research of the American Revolution.
Preserving the records of Revolutionary War Patriots.
Marking the locations of the Revolution events and its soldiers.
Celebrating anniversaries of the Revolution.
Fostering true patriotism.
Maintaining and extending institutions of American freedom.
Carrying out the purposes of the Preamble of the Constitution.
Following the injunctions of Washington’s farewell address to the American people.

The National Headquarters is located in Louisville, Kentucky. There are 50 state societies including the District of Columbia. There are also societies in France, the United Kingdom, Canada, Germany and Switzerland. The current membership is approximately 26,000 active members.

What we do:

Honor individuals for outstanding and unusual patriotic achievement on a national, regional and local level.
Honor persons for outstanding bravery and self-sacrifice in the face of imminent danger.
Honor members of the United States Congress for outstanding service to the nation.
Honor outstanding high school students annually with the presentation of a Good Citizenship Award.
Honor outstanding Junior and Senior ROTC cadets annually with the presentation of the ROTC Award.
Honor Law Enforcement officials for outstanding service with a Law Enforcement Award.
Select an outstanding Eagle Scout annually at the branch, state and national level. The national winner receives a college scholarship.
Honor an outstanding student for winning the Knight Essay Contest.
Assist veterans in Veterans Hospitals.
Conduct a national historical orations contest annually.
Sponsor Boy Scout troops and chapters of the Children of the American Revolution.
Place SAR Markers at the grave sites of Revolutionary War Patriots and SAR Members.
Commemorate Revolutionary War Patriots with appropriate ceremonies.
Participate in new citizenship swearing-in ceremonies.
Observe patriotic anniversaries.
Cooperate with the National Society of the Daughters of the American RevolutionChildren of the American Revolution and other hereditary organizations in the promotion of patriotism.

The history of the chapter was originally prepared by Compatriot Charles Davies from 1978-1994.  Subsequent years were compiled in the same format by Compatriot Gary O. Green. The attached documents are listed by year.

LCF Chapter 1978-1994 
LCF Chapter 1994

LCF Chapter 1995
LCF Chapter 1996
LCF Chapter 1997
LCF Chapter 1998
LCF Chapter 1999
LCF Chapter 2000
LCF Chapter 2001
LCF Chapter 2002
LCF Chapter 2003
LCF Chapter 2004
LCF Chapter 2005
LCF Chapter 2006
LCF Chapter 2007
LCF Chapter 2008
LCF Chapter 2009
LCF Chapter 2010
LCF Chapter 2011
LCF Chapter 2012
LCF Chapter 2013
LCF Chapter 2014
LCF Chapter 2015
LCF Chapter 2016
LCF Chapter 2017