246th Anniversary of the Halifax Resolves Celebrated

Posted in: News

The Halifax Resolves Chapter NCSAR hosted the celebration of the 246th Anniversary of the Halifax Resolves on the site of the Colonial Courthouse  in Halifax, NC.  South Atlantic District Vice President-General Patrick J. Niemann represented the National Society.  NSSAR Vice Commander of the Color Guard was in command of the Color Guard. Historic Halifax Site Manager Carl Burk welcomed everyone to the ceremony.  Halifax Resolves Chapter President Ken Wilson was the Master of Ceremonies.  Greetings were brought by NCSSAR President Rear Admiral Jay A. DeLoach, USN, (ret.); South Atlantic VPG Patrick J. Niemann; VASSAR President R. Bruce Myer; N.C.S.C.A.R. President Davis Benedict; NC SR President Emeritus Daniel L. Hopping and American Legion Post 38 Commander Colonel David Sammon, USAF (ret.).  Mr. Vernon J. Bryant, Chairman of the Halifax County Board of Commissioners, brought greeting from the county and present Compatriot Wilson with a proclamation from the Board of Commissioner in support of the event.  Mr. William H. Riggan, Registrar of the Halifax Resolves Chapter introduced the guest speaker Mr. Mark Pace who was in the persona of John Penn, a Delegate to the Fourth Provincial Congress in Halifax and a delegate to the Second Continental Congress.  Following Mr. Pace’s presentation, VPG Niemann presented him with a Certificate of Appreciation.

The NSSAR wreath was presented by South Atlantic VPG Patrick J. Niemann and state society wreaths were presented by their respective presidents.

NCSSAR chapters presenting wreaths at this year’s ceremony were: Halifax Resolves, Alamance Battleground, General George Washington, Kings Mountain, Lower Cape Fear, Mecklenburg, New Bern and Raleigh.

VASSAR chapters presenting wreaths were Culpepper Minutemen, Dan River and Thomas Nelson, Jr.

NC DAR chapters presenting wreaths were: Brunswick Town, Elizabeth Montford-Ashe, John Penn, Susanna Coutanch Evans and Shocco Creek.

The VA DAR  was presented by the Fauquier Court House Chapter.

Honors were also rendered by American Legion Post 38 and the Halifax County Government.

NCSSAR President Rear Admiral Jay Deloach also presented N.C.S.C.A.R. President Davis Benedict and N.C.S.C.A.R. Senior President Kathleen Benedict with the Silver CAR Medal of Appreciation.