The Halifax Resolves SAR Chapter commemorates the 1776 adoption of the Halifax Resolves

Posted in: News

Halifax, NC – April 12, 2023 — The Halifax Resolves Chapter of the North Carolina Sons of the American Revolution celebrated the 247th Anniversary of the Halifax Resolves on the grounds of the Colonial Courthouse in Halifax, NC. At this location in 1776, a resolution was adopted by the Fourth North Carolina Provincial Congress, declaring the state’s desire to declare its independence from Great Britain. The resolves would be sent to Philadelphia, PA, authorizing her delegates to the Continental Congress to vote for independence, which would later become the Declaration of Independence.

A welcome was given by Carl Burke, Site Manager for Historic Halifax, which was followed by introductory remarks given by the Past President of the Halifax Resolves Chapter, Kenith Wilson, who also acted as the event’s Master of Ceremonies. The invocation was provided by the Reverend Van Jones (Chaplain, NCSSAR), while the Pledge of Allegiance, and the SAR Pledge were led by Harry Albert (Halifax Resolves) and Bill Riggan (Halifax Resolves), respectively. Presentation of the Colors was led by Lt. Col. Brooks Lyles Jr., (ret.), Commander, NSSAR Color Guard. Remarks given during the ceremony included, SMSgt. George K. Strunk (South Atlantic Vice President-General, NSSAR), Steve A. Van Pelt (President, NCSSAR), Steven A. Avent (Region I VP, NCSSAR), Ernie Coggins (President, VASSAR), Mary Tatum (Parliamentarian, NC Daughters of the American Revolution), Dorothy Johnson (Chaplain-elect, NCSCAR), Valerie Howell (Sr. President, NCSCAR), Guy Succop (President, NC SR), Sheryll Pope Albert (NC Governor, Descendants of the Signers of the Declaration of Independence), Kevin Hanretta (American Legion Post 38 Commander), Dia Denton (Halifax County Manager).

Vernon J. Bryant, Chairman of the Halifax County Board of Commissioners, spoke on the history of Halifax in the founding of America and presented a Proclamation to Kenith Wilson in regard to the day’s events. Rear Admiral Jay A. DeLoach (USN-ret.), the Aide de Camp to the President-General introduced the events Guest Speaker, President-General C. Bruce Pickette, National Society, Sons of the American Revolution.

The NSSAR wreath was presented by President-General C. Bruce Pickette and South Atlantic Vice-President General George K. Strunk. State society wreaths and chapter wreaths were presented by their respective representatives including the following.

North Carolina Society Sons of the American Revolution
Virginia Sons of the American Revolution
North Carolina Daughters of the American Revolution
North Carolina Sons of the American Revolution
North Carolina Children of the American Revolution
Descendants of the Signers of the Declaration of Independence
NC SAR Chapters
Alamance Battleground Chapter
General George Washington Chapter
Kings Mountain Chapter
Lower Cape Fear Chapter
New Bern Chapter
VA SAR Chapters
Culpepper Minutemen Chapter
NC DAR Chapters
Brunswick Town Chapter
Elizabeth Montfort-Ashe Chapter
Guilford Battle Chapter
Micajah Pettaway-Halifax Resolves Chapter
John Penn Chapter
Samuel Johnston Chapter
Shocco Creek Chapter
VA DAR Chapters
Fauquier Court House Chapter
Patriotic Organizations
Kevin Hanretta – Commander, American Legion Post 38
Government Officials
Vernon J. Bryant, Chairman, Halifax County Board of Commissioners

All the participants in this year’s Halifax Resolves Memorial ceremony. Representatives from the SAR, SR, DAR, CAR and various other organizations.
Color Guard presenting the colors of the American flag and other historic and society flags.


President General of Sons of the American Revolution, Bruce Pickett, brought greetings at the Event.
Steve Avent, Regional VP NC SAR, honoring the celebration at the wreath presentation.
Vernon Bryant, Chairman, Halifax County Board of Commissioners
Participants in this year’s Halifax Resolves Memorial ceremony representing the SAR and SR.