Halifax Resolves Chapter History

The Halifax Resolves Chapter, North Carolina Society, Sons of the American Revolution was chartered April 12th, 2003 and was organized by Steven F. Avent at the urging of NCSSAR Eastern Vice President Joe E. Harris. **Charter members were:**

Steven F. Avent James Becker Robert L. Bowen Walter W. Brewster C. R. Casey Harry K. Goodman F. Grady Hall, III Joe E. Harris, Jr. Dr. Cleveland Hawkins Franklin N. Horton Wallace G. Johnson Larry McClanahan Kenneth Odom G. Steven Pittard Lee W. Porter Randy D. Steele Dr. Rhoderick Williams Rev. A. Clark Wiser

Of the eighteen (18) original members, four (4) are still members, two (2) of whom are associate members. (As of November 2012)

Chapter Officers

The first officers elected by the Chapter for 2003-2006 were:

President: Steve Avent Secretary/Treasurer: Dr. Cleveland Hawkins Chaplain: Rev. Clark Wiser Vice President: Rhoderick Williams Registrar: Frank Horton

Officers elected for 2006-2008 were:

President: Dr. Cleveland Hawkins *(Comp. Garner resigned in 2006, moving out of State) Secretary/Treasurer: Steve Avent Chaplain: Rev. Duncan Jones Vice President: *Dr. C. Edwin Garner Vice President: Ron Jones (as of Nov. 06) Registrar: Frank Horton



2006-2008 Officers: (L-R) VP Dr. C. Edwin Garner, Pres. Dr. Cleveland Hawkins, Sec.-Treas. Steve Avent and Eastern NC Vice President Steve Pittard

Officers elected for 2008-2009 are:

President: Ron Jones Registrar: Frank Horton

Vice President: Ken Wilson Secretary/Treasurer: Steve Avent Chaplain: Rev. Duncan Jones



Installation of the 2008-2009 Officers. L-R: Sec-Treas. Steven F. Avent, VP C.K. "Ken" Wilson, Pres. Ron Jones and NCSSAR Pres. Dr. Samuel C. Powell

Officers elected for 2010-2011 are:

President: Ken Wilson Secretary/Treasurer: Steve Avent Chaplain: Rev. Duncan Jones Vice President: David Hoaglan (resigned 6 Feb '10) Registrar: R. Allen Brahin



2010-2011 Officers - NCSSAR President Franklin N. Horton assisted by NSSAR South Atlantic VPG Dr. Samuel C. Powell installed new Chapter officers: (L-R) President Mr. Ken Wilson, Sec.-Treas. Mr. Steven F. Avent, Chaplain Rev. Duncan Jones, VP Mr. David R. Hoaglan and Registrar Mr. R. Allen Brahin

Officers elected for 2012-2013 are:

President: Ken Wilson Secretary/Treasurer: Steve Avent Chaplain: Rev. Duncan Jones Vice President: (Vacant) Registrar: R. Allen Brahin



2012-2013 Officers - (L-R) Sec.-Treas. Steve Avent, Chaplain Rev. Duncan Jones, President Ken Wilson and NCSSAR President G. Steven Pittard who administered the oath. Not shown Registrar R. Allen Brahin.

Officers elected for 2014-2015 are:

President: Geoff Pittard Registrar: R. Allen Brahin Vice President: R.J. Myrick Secretary/Treasurer: Steve Avent Chaplain: Rev. Duncan Jones



2014-2015 Officers – (L-R) President Geoff Pittard, Chaplain Rev. Duncan Jones, Sec.-Treas. Steve Avent, Vice President R.J. Myrick, Registrar R. Allen Brahin and Immediate Past President Ken Wilson.

Officers elected for 2016-2017 are:

President: Ken Wilson

Vice President: R.J. Myrick (Resigned May 2017) Secretary/Treasurer: Steve Avent

Registrar: R. Allen Brahin

Chaplain: Rev. Duncan Jones



2016-2017 Officers – (L-R) NC SAR President Tim Berly installs chapter officers President Ken Wilson, Sec.-Treas. Steve Avent, VP R.J. Myrick, Chaplain Rev. Duncan Jones and Registrar R. Allen Brahin.

Officers elected for 2018-2019 are:

President: David B. Gammon

Vice President: Geoff Pittard

Secretary/Treasurer: Steve Avent

Chaplain: Rev. Duncan Jones



2018-2019 Chapter Officers – (L-R) President David B. Gammon, VP Geoff Pittard, Chaplain Rev. Duncan Jones. Not shown Steven F. Avent, Secretary-Treasurer

Officers elected for 2020-2021

President: Geoff Pittard

Vice President: Vacant

Treasurer: Steve Avent

Secretary: Michael A. Cooper

Chaplain: Rev. Duncan Jones



(L-R) Secretary: Michael A. Cooper, Chaplain: Rev. Duncan H. Jones; President: Geoff Pittard; NC SAR President James Becker. Not shown: Treasurer: Steven F. Avent.